This page looks different to our usual site because it is from our back catalogue. More recent articles are here.


Powell and Lenamore eye Burghley again

August 17, 2011

New Zealand's Caroline Powell and Lenamore will be defending their Burghley Horse Trials title again this year, in the 50th running of the historic event.

2010 Burghley Horse Trials winners Caroline Powell and Lenamore. © Mike Bain
Princess Anne is among several former Burghley Horse Trials winners who will attend the 50th anniversary of the event, and she will present the prizes to the competition's winners.

In 1971, aged 21, the Princess won the individual European Championship title at Burghley with Doublet and subsequently was voted the BBC's Sports Personality of 1971. In 1975 Princess Anne won European team and individual silver and the following year was a member of the British team at the Olympic Games in Montreal.

Powell and Lenamore lead a large Kiwi contingent at this year's event, from September 1 to 4.

Powell, who will also ride Mrs Tilly in the event, is joined by Andrew Nicholson (Nereo, Armada, Avebury), Jonathan Paget (Clifton Lush, Clifton Promise), Jonelle Richards (Flintstar), Anne-Marie Styles (As You Like It IV), Clarke Johnstone (Incognito III), Craig Nicolai (Just Ironic), Mark Todd (Major Milestone), Blyth Tait (Santos II), Dan Jocelyn (Special Advocate), and Neil Spratt (Upleadon).

The Burghley Horse Trials were initiated in 1961 by the 6th Marquess of Exeter and have been held every year since.

• The Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials has awarded the Animal Health Trust (AHT) a bursary of £15,000 to help develop a horse-side test to identify, within 10 minutes, horses which have been exposed to Strangles.



Affiliate disclaimer