This page looks different to our usual site because it is from our back catalogue. More recent articles are here.


Burghley Horse Trials - dressage results

September 1, 2011

Day 1 - Fox Pitt leads dressage

All of the 81 combinations who trotted up for the first veterinary check passed muster for the Burghley International Horse Trials, and the first day of dressage is under way.

Caroline Powell

Oliver Townend

William Fox-Pitt

Mark Todd

Four horses were held over for re-inspection, but all are now in contention for the Land Rover perpetual challenge trophy and the £50,000 first prize.

US rider Julian Stiller won the first award of the event, winning the prize for the best turned out rider, which was judged by Sarah Jewson, wife of the Burghley committee chairman Richard Jewson.

The ground jury comprised President Angela Tucker (GB), and Michel Asseray (FRA) and Christina Klingspor (SWE).

Nine former winners are among the entries for this year's 50th anniversary competition, including last year's winner Caroline Powell (NZL) and Lenamore. As yet no horse has managed to win Burghley in consecutive years and only one horse - Priceless and Ginnie Elliott (nee Holgate) has won twice, in 1983 and 1985.

Lenamore is one of two 18-year-old horses in the field this year - the other is Comanche, the ride of James Robinson (GBR). The pair is making what must be a record ninth appearance on the Burghley start list.

William Fox-Pitt and Mark Todd (NZ) have both won Burghley five times, and Lucinda Fredericks (Aus) is only the second rider besides Captain Mark Phillips, now the Burghley course designer, to have won the event with a mare. This year Fredericks returns with the German-bred Prada, also a mare and one of 11 mares in the field.

Mary King, well recovered from her fall at Luhmühlen last week, also rides a mare, her homebred Kings Temptress, by Primitive Rising and one of three on the start list by this Thoroughbred sire. King, one of nine riders with two horses, also has the experienced Burghley horse Apache Sauce to help in her bid for her second title.

Other former winners with two rides are William Fox-Pitt, Oliver Townend, Andrew Nicholson (NZL), Pippa Funnell, and Caroline Powell, while Burghley first-timer Jonathan Paget (NZL) also has two rides, as does Britain's Francis Whittington.

Former local girl and Fitzwilliam Pony Club member Sarah Cohen (nee Cutteridge) and her Preci-Spark homebred gelding Treason were the first in the dressage arena as the 'Guinea Pig' combination for the ground jury.



Affiliate disclaimer